Ten Things I Wish I Had Known Before I Started Coding.

Ten Things I Wish I Had Known Before I Started Coding.

I am new to programming and have no idea where to begin. Before I get started, what should I know?

I bet you're thinking about being a programmer, and you need a heads-up before getting started. This is relatable because there are a lot of rumors surrounding programming.

guy holding code card.jpg

In this article, I share ten things I wish someone had told me before I started coding.

1. Coding in movies is very different from coding in real life.

“I've hacked the firewall” and “Access granted” are a few phrases you've heard in movies about programmers. Additionally, you've probably seen hackers and programmers glued to their screens, typing away. The reality of coding is different. This is the best way I can describe it: you code, you do research, you do additional research, you continue coding, you shut down your laptop in frustration, and you repeat the endless cycle till you find a solution to your bug.

I wish I was kidding, but I'm not.

The truth is that we don't just sit in our dark rooms at our desks in black hoodies and code away. Not at all! Some errors that we end up making may take days or even weeks to solve. So don't believe what you see in the movies.

team coders.jpg

Movies also give the impression that programmers work alone. There are several communities and platforms for different programming languages, so no one is an island.

2. Programmers constantly learn.

One major difference between a programmer and most other professions is that programmers constantly learn, irrespective of their experience. As you progress as a developer, it does get easier to familiarize yourself with different languages and technologies, but learning remains constant.

I remember first learning Python. Initially, it was a bit hard to understand the basic concepts, such as variables and functions. I eventually got the hang of it. A few months later, I learned Java, and it was less confusing because I already understood what variables and functions were. For different languages, you have to learn their different syntaxes.

If you need resources to learn, check out my list of resources or feel free to reach out to me on my Twitter.

3: It may take time before you earn a dime.

money in cage.jpg

I'm pretty sure you have Googled “How much does a programmer make annually?". Chances are you have seen the figures, and you had the biggest smile on your face. It’s very easy to get carried away with the figures and lose focus on the actual goal. Focus on learning and mastering the basics before looking into making money from it.

4. Is my vision bad?

nerd wearing glasses.jpg

Constantly looking at my screen has affected my eyesight. Due to the constant exposure to my laptop screen, my eyes tend to get watery after a while. My eyes are now more sensitive to light. I recommend you get blue-light glasses. It will help you out.

5: Google has the answers to all my problems.

As a programmer, any problem you encounter has already been solved by someone else, and it's already online.

Every single thing you need is on Google.

Websites like StackOverflow are every developer's best friend. You can ask your questions on StackOverflow and within an hour, you will receive responses. As a developer, you should learn how to conduct research because no one will spoon-feed you solutions at every turn.

6. #TechTwitter

As a newbie to coding, please create a Twitter account. Post what you're learning and connect with other developers, even the ones that aren't in your niche. You can even ask them for advice or help when necessary. On Twitter, you'll not only meet amazing people, but you'll also find inspiration when you're feeling unproductive and lethargic.

Here are a few incredible developers you can follow:

Here are a few hashtags to use when tweeting to reach the right audience:

  • #100DaysOfCode
  • #Programmer
  • #Coder
  • #Developer
  • #SoftwareDeveloper
  • #TechTwitter

7. Your communication skills will take you very far.

presentation.jpg

As a developer, you can’t solely rely on your coding skills. Don't get me wrong; your coding skills are very important, but how you communicate with others is just as critical. I know someone who got employed by making a calculator using HTML, CSS, and Javascript.

She made a small job seem big with her effective communication skills.

8. Don’t just learn; build along the way, no matter how small.

calculator code.jpg

Once you learn a certain concept in a language, build something small. For example, if you learn about the structure of a web page and a few elements in HTML, you can try to make a little web page and apply all that you have learned. Try to do it from scratch without help. This will make you a better programmer.

9. You cannot learn all languages at once.

There are more than 100 languages, frameworks, libraries, and technologies to choose from, but even the best programmers don't know them all. In this tweet, I explain how to navigate what exactly you want to do as a programmer.

10. A backend developer is not smarter than a front-end developer.

This last one may seem random to most. When I learned about the difference between a frontend and a backend developer, I assumed that the backend developer was the smart developer. I thought their job was the hardest, but I was wrong. Different developers do different things, and no one is smarter than the other.

Don’t underestimate another developer.

Conclusion

I understand the overwhelming feeling newbies experience when starting programming. I hope this article helped open your eyes to the reality of coding. Feel free to add to this list of things new developers should know in the comment section below. You can always reach out to me on my Twitter and Email.

Thanks for reading! Ciao!